Archive for the ‘Railways’ Category

Tactile Paving For Visually Impaired

If you have traveled in Delhi Metro, you must have noticed a yellow pavement with raised oblong lines (see the image below) at the Metro station. The last time when I was at the Metro Station, I heard an announcement asking people to stay away from the central yellow line. That made me wonder if there is more to it than meets the eye. I did some research on the net and what I found is quite interesting!

This yellow pavement is called Tactile Paving or Guiding Tiles and are used at stations, airports, sidewalks etc. to guide or warn the visually impaired pedestrians. The one that you see in the picture above serves as a pathway for the blind and disabled people. They are located midway on the platform, and lead directly to the lift, and then to the exit.

There are two types of patterns used in these blocks- the oblong raised pattern indicate places, and in what direction, it is safe to walk confidently. The “warning” blocks with the round raised dots indicate edges, corners or other places where greater care or caution is required. So, these tactile cues help everyone stay clear of train platform edges, crosswalk dropoffs, and other related hazzards.

The original tactile paving was developed by Seiichi Miyake in 1965. The paving was first introduced in a street in Okayama city, Japan, in 1967. Its use gradually spread in Japan and then around the world and has now become a standard. The color is chosen in a way that it contrasts visually with adjacent walking surfaces, either light-on-dark, or dark-on-light.

Here is an example from the internet which shows both the “safe” and the “warning” tactile paving together.

So, next time when you see a tactile paving, stay away from it so that visually impaired people can use it.

Source: Knowledge Hub

Railway minister launches Wi-Fi service on Kolkata Rajdhani

Wednesday April 3rd, 2013 in India, News, Railways, Travel News | Be the first to Comment »

NEW DELHI: Passengers travelling on the Delhi-Kolkata Rajdhani train will now be able to connect to the internet through Wi-Fi facility.

Railway minister Pawan Bansal on Tuesday launched the facility as a pilot project on the Howrah Rajdhani. It was a challenge for the national transporter to provide continuous internet access on a moving train as it passes through all types of terrain.

After successful technical trials, the pilot project was simultaneously launched on the Howrah Rajdhani in both directions. At present, the facility is being extended free of cost to passengers.

To log on, passengers will have to access the Indian Railway Wi-Fi network. Passengers will be able to register by providing the PNR and other details like mobile number . On validation of the data entered by the passenger, the login ID and password will be sent through text message to the registered mobile number. The login ID and password will remain valid for the entire journey.

Railways wants to extend the facility on other elite trains such as Rajdhani, Shatabdi and Duronto Express based on customer feedback.

Source: The Times of India 

Indian Railway introduces new Tatkal rules

Thursday July 12th, 2012 in India, Railways, Travel News | Be the first to Comment »

The Indian Railway has introduced several measures to ensure Tatkal train tickets reach the common man. Booking counters will now open at 10 am instead of 8 am, the day before the journey from the originating station.

The Indian Railway has introduced several measures to ensure Tatkal train tickets reach the common man. Booking counters will now open at 10 am instead of 8 am, the day before the journey from the originating station.

“No normal ticket will be issued during this time unless there is no passenger for the Tatkal tickets,” an Eastern Railway release said.

ER spokesperson Samir Goswami said Tatkal tickets cannot be booked on internet reservation system during the special time of 10-10.30 am for next day trains.

All travel agents including those of IRCTC will not be allowed to book Tatkal tickets between 10 am to 12 noon from counters as well as on the Internet. There will be separate queues and counters for Tatkal buyers.

CCTVs are being installed at booking centres as well. One will have to carry self attested identity proofs for buying a Tatkal ticket.

The Tatkal revamp comes after the IBN network exposed how touts were cornering these tickets.


Online Tatkal booking made easier:

The Indian Railway has also put in place measures to make online Tatkal bookings easier. High capacity database servers have been installed. The Internet bandwidth has been increased from 344 mbps to 450 mbps.

Web service agents have been permitted to book only one Tatkal ticket per train per day on the internet only after 12 noon. Individual users can now book only two tickets between 10 am and 12 noon

An IT-Anti Fraud Squad has been created. A complaint cell has also been set up. One can email or call these numbers: (011-23745962) or (011-39340000).

(With additional information from PTI)


Longest name of any Railway Station in India

Tuesday February 14th, 2012 in India, Places to Visit, Railways | 1 Comment »

Venkatanarasimharajuvaripeta, Andhra Pradesh (Longest name of any Railway Station in India)


Venkatanarasimharajuvaripeta, Andhra Pradesh (Picture : Copyright inderSTADT)


* Venkatanarasimharajuvaripet is a railway station in Andhra Pradesh on the border with Tamil Nadu, India.

* This place got the distinction of having the longest name among all stations on the Indian Railway system.

* It is on the Renigunta-Arakkonam section of Southern Railway.

* Venkatanarasimharajuvaripeta is sometimes referred to with the prefix “Sri” making the name longer by 3 letters.

* In railway parlance this is a flag station. It is unsignalled and passenger trains halt here.



Now, book railway tickets 4 months in advance

Friday February 10th, 2012 in India, Railways, Roads / Routes, Travel News | 1 Comment »

NEW DELHI: The railways has decided to increase the advance reservation period from the current 90 days to 120 days from March 10.

“It has been decided to increase the advance reservat-ion period from 90 days to 120 days on experimental basis,” the commercial department’s circular said. The railways claimed the move will help passengers plan their jour-neys better. Thecentre for railway information system (CRIS) will make necessary changes in the software for this purpose.

However, there will be no change in case of certain short-distance trains like Taj Express and Gomti Express, the advance reservation period for whom is 15 days and it will remain unchanged. There will also be no change in case of the limit of 360 days for foreign tourists. Railways had earlier reduced the Tatkal booking period from 48 hours to 24 hours to prevent misuse of the facility.

Source: Times of India